[Gear Talk] Basic gear for Dubstep production?

Hi! :adios:

I am new here! :biggrin:
I have very little experience with Dubstep creation. :eyeroll:
The most familiarity I’ve had with production was watching my little brother perfect sounds in Massive. :jointbounce:

This thread is for clarification with the minimal requirements for Dubstep creation. :mrgreen:

I have some gear in my sight:

~A Laptop with 8GB RAM size & DDR4 RAM type.

~Frutiy Loops Producer Edition

~Native Insturments Komplete Select 11

Extras:

~Korg Kaossilator Pro Plus

~Novation UltraNova Synthesizer

My aim is to have the software and plug-ins legit with the license key. :relaxed:

I prefer my creations with safety and reliability, I’ve just heard illegal downloads crash too much… :hushed:

So DSF Community, I ask your help! :eyes:

I would love to hear what works for you and your favorite methods. :alien:

I confess, i am a total n00b…:baby:

However, I am a devout listener. :ear:

My passion for this genre of music is religious to say the least… :innocent:

Thank you for everything! :djparty:

:slight_smile:
:pray:

~Nate

You could start just with “Laptop with 8GB RAM size & DDR4 RAM type/Frutiy Loops Producer Edition” - go large on the laptop though, esp. the RAM. FLProducer is nice but you could use Reaper and learn more (imo) and have more routing flexibility to boot.

Also: a good soundcard and decent monitoring setup. Again - don’t skimp. Focusrite, Lexicon, Apogee are all p good brands generally speaking (but be sure to check reviews as well, including customer support). UAD is what I’d probably go with if I had the cash rn. Costs more than some of those other brands’ entry level models but you’re much less likely to replace it soon unless you start tracking live musicians and need more I/O or something.