Good sources for more advanced jazz stuff?

Free prefferably. I’m super into that Dilla sound and shit like Flying lotus, and I’ve scoured the internet for vague snippets of info regarding the theory behind it. But it’s always a little bit here, a little bit there, I want an advanced jazz theory book or course that gets me from point A to point B. Or at least on my way. I’ve been playing guitar for a few years and I’m familiar with 7th chords and extensions and dominant chords, 2-5-1’s and 1-4-5’s and all that good stuff. But I want to take my theory to the next level, any reccomendations?

Free jazz won’t really help with theory. If you’re interested in taking your theory to the next level you should listen to Miles Davis’ Second Quintet, with Herbie Hancock and Wayne Shorter among others. Theorywise that should keep you busy for a while.

Edit: sorry you said free at the beginning I thought you were referring to free jazz but you meant like free as in cost. My bad.

Guess I should have been more specific, I assumed saying Dilla and Flying Lotus would have been enough to describe the sound, but I’m talking about neo-soul I guess? I have a problem building tension in my progressions, and I here lots of these out of key chords being played in neo-soul and that’s the sound I’m after.

Oh ok, I’m not as knowledgeable about neosoul but I have a good knowledge of jazz. It sounds like what you’re looking for is certain chord substitutions, which is what often gives soul and RnB a “jazzy” sound. Do you have any specific audio examples of the kind of sound you’re trying to appropriate?

Yeah one minute

Tea leaf dancers

Jdilla flowers

everything in this mix

I guess I have to ask, do you want to play jazz or sample jazz?

Sorry I couldn’t get to this until later.