In need of some help with learning to make dubby saturated sub bass

Im fairly new to producing and im looking to start making dubstep, i’ve been struggling to achieve a nice sub bass to use for myself, does anyone have any tips or have any good info on how i could start making those basses i need, kind of the style of deep medi is where id get inspiration from, if anyone can help its much appreciated

Just sine wave usually for the sub, mono, but it’s all about the gain structure in comparison to everything else. You can add distortion and stuff like that but that can detract from the overall weight. Experiment with multiple sine (or whatever type of waveform u prefer) oscillators and get them going at different octaves, or have them detuned so the waves smash into eachother a bit which makes it sound a bit unstable…in a nice way

1 BigUp

safe for that ill bare that in mind, if anyone else has anything too let me know!

what program/s are you using?

can tell you that a load of old kromestar (and a load of old producers’ dubstep in general) basslines are just FL’s 3xosc run through a really simple FX chain. you honestly don’t need much.

here’s how you can get real close to the bassline in cessman - stampede using 3xosc

i added some compressor settings as well so you can see how to even out the volume of different notes

turn down the volume on the 2nd oscillator and you’ll get a pure sine sub with a bit of lfo’d character on the pitch, filter and volume envelopes

as for the “saturated” bit - add some distortion or something

4 Likes