Making songs vs making tracks

Wadup ninjas?

This is a subject/theme I have been thinking of for some time now, and I hope that we could get some kind of discussion going that, in the end, will help people make better songs.

I have been producing music for around 4-5 years now, but still feel that most of my stuff ends up just being “cool sounds that I try to collect into something coherent within a genre”, instead of “a house track, a dubstep track” etc. That being said, I know how to create guitar based songs/tracks, and have a little side project where I can churn out actual songs within relatively short time, mainly because I have to account for vocals and lyrics.

When I listen to the things that I produce I’m taken back by the fact that there’s no emotion in the structure. Sure, the sounds are on point and I’m within the genre I’m aiming for, but I more often than not think that “it’s just a bunch of cool sounds together”, instead of an actual song.

At the same time I listen to a lof of electronic music without vocals or lyrics at all, and can almost instantly tell if there’s some emotional “message” or underline in the whole thing. Usually it’s this that draws me in and what separates the good from the great tracks.

Any thoughts on this? Usually I feel that digging through samples, choosing a synth plugin etc that kills whatever creative vibe I have, or that I have the ‘wrong’ sounds available in terms of what I want to achieve.

Examples of what I consider to be emotionally driven electronic songs:

not to mention the the tonnes of dubstep tunes that all mainly evolve around a hefty wub.

1 BigUp

song implies someone is singing

if no one’s singing i would say its a track, not a song

unless its a very good track and then it becomes a choon

4 Likes

Just an observation here, but judging how things have went for so many electronic artists:

Simple tracks w/ just some “cool sounds” arranged in a “cool way”.