Practice

What’s up everybody. I started producing 6 or 7 years ago. I was able to build up a pretty big knowledge of most things about it. Though i would love to hear how you guys ‘practice’ of further improving yourself. Since a couple of months i started diving more and more into Sound design. The thought of being able to create most sounds you want very precisely. I really wanna learn more about that and about arranging your sounds as i think it is just as important as the sound design itself. But please post what you had trouble with too and how you got around that.

I’ve been writing music for 7 years. Producing for only one. I’ve learned there are guidelines but no rules. I.e. People say always put your eq after your compressor but I can make a neat snare sound putting my compressor after my reverb and eq.

I listen to music I enjoy and wish to emulate on many different speaker types, from my phone, to my studio monitors, to my Sol Republic headphones. I take notes. What does the kick sound like, where do the vocals feel like they are sitting in the mix, what effects do I think he’s using?

I listen to my own music on many different speakers. I show my friends. They aren’t audiophiles, but occasionally I get some solid advice just from having a second or third set of ears.

My producer friend downloads individual tracks of songs off of the internet (vocals, bass, drums, etc) and then experiments with them in his DAW, looks for different ways to mix them, give them different vibes. Personally I think that is genius.

^check out my shitty music

What do you guys do?

1 BigUp

Shitty? I love it already after just listening to it for a couple of minutes. I just love these ‘f*ck all your rules i do what i want’ sort of bangers. Is that you singing in these tracks? Sounds awesome.

That is me singing! Except for “Never,” that’s my friend who’s classically trained. Thanks!
Rules are for shmucks.

I’m still a n00b when it comes to mastering.