What should I do ? [Need advice]

Hi,

OK so I’m not even sure if its OK to post things like this here. I am a dubstep producer and a college student. I currently live somewhere where the genre I’m trying to produce is not very popular, and really the future of me as a producer doesn’t look good here no matter how good I become.
So I am focusing on my college and putting most of my time on it. I am only allowing myself to produce on weekends. I am improving bit by bit but really I think I could do a lot better if I focus only on production.

So really I don’t know what I’m saying here but if you have anything to say please do. Should I continue as best as I can in both ways or try to focus more about production? Is it enough to only produce in my spare time while studying full time if I want to succeed? Is anyone in a position similliar to me?

Thank you

Hey there. Nowadays it doesn’t matter where you’re from. You got the internet right? I say focus on college first and just make music whenever you got the time for it. Music isn’t anything that you should force. Enjoy it. And only doing it on weekends will be enough for now. You don’t have to fully dive in as a beginner. Just always make sure you work on your craft a little bit every now and then. And as you evolve you can put more and more time into it. College is more important for now.
I had the same problem as you. Should i focus on school for 3 more years or just forget about everything besides music completely? And i am happy now for choosing to finishing school first. You will have more than enough time in your life man.

3 Likes

definitely quit school and focus on the dub

7 Likes

Drop out of college to focus on your dubstep art.

Oh of course cause everybody gets shit tons of money through their music right? Don’t drop out because if you finish it you’re done for good. You’ll never have to do it again. And you will have something for your future if it won’t work out with your music.