Studio Monitors vs Headphones [Tutorial]

Studio Monitors vs Headphones Tutorial

This marks the first is a series of tutorials I hope to write. Back in the day nearly 12 years ago now, I learned so much from the elders on this very forum. Now I’m a little older and more experienced I feel like it’s my time to pass on a little knowledge.

I’m going to try and keep this factual but obviously like with any subject, at a point, you can only share an opinion.

This ended up being just under 4 pages long in Microsoft Word so if you can’t read all of this then you suck! Really though you need to read all of it. I had to say so much, that ,important points where left until last.

I am only human so if I have said something stupid or you have something good to add to this I will gladly edit it! I have 12 years of experience so hopefully that will keep me from saying anything too stupid! :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyway so let’s get to the point… You want to learn about Studio Monitors and Headphones.

I feel like the first thing to say is that… Most experienced producers will say to buy Studio Monitors first. By first I mean before any other bit of hardware, Keyboards, Interfaces, synths.

You might ask “Well I have seen some top producers using headphones on Youtube and Twitch. So what’s the deal!?”

You might have even seen some people on this very forum say they only produce on headphones.

I need to say something right here right now. If you do buy headphones make sure they are comfortable!!! I have brought expensive pairs of headphones before but I could only ware them for 15 minutes because they crushed my ears! Try them in a music shop first!!!

The real truth here is you need both!!!