Sytrus vs. FM8

I feel like there’s been a huge shift recently in how dubstep is made, everyone seems to be making there growls in FM instead of additive. I’ve been trying to learn how to use FM, and my question is whether or not I should spend to get FM8 instead of just using Sytrus, which I already have…there both FM so I assume they can do the same things, but FM8 seems to be the new Massive, so maybe it’s worth getting…

I started playing around with Sytrus today and I’m pretty impressed by it. Normally I only made super saws or simple leads with it, but started using the FM of it. I’ve never used FM8 before so I can’t give you any opinions about that.

I know it has incredible potential, I just dont really know how to use it…I watched the Seamless videos on FM synthesis but im still struggling with the how, even though I know the why.

I think you just have to try everything out with Sytrus. I got the sound I wanted for months on my first try with luck but also understanding how the FM works. Here is Sytrus visually explained which helped me alot: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4OWsez10Zg

Tbh, you should just watch tutorials in FM8 and apply them to massive. Then you’ll have an idea of the pros/cons of both.

thanks man ill watch that

sytrus is WAAAY superior to FM8

how so?

Ring mod, customizable waveforms, sounds better when using different voices especially with reeses

1 BigUp

Hmm good point, the reeses are quite nice…busy its not very easy to use unless you know your way around FM already

sytrus is like the most intuitive FM synth ever how can you not find your way around it

I’m 17 and have no patience to learn anything past which wavetables sound cool in massive.

This is something I am actively trying to remedy by asking these questions.

I do not know FM, which is why its not intuitive to me, wherefore sprung the reason for my above statement.